Home Page

Areas of Learning

The EYFS is made up of three Prime areas of learning and four Specific areas of learning. The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS. These are:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning. These are:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


None of these areas can be delivered in isolation from the others. They are equally important and depend on each other. The experiences that our children meet often enable them to develop a number of competencies, skills and concepts across several areas of learning. All areas are delivered through a balance of adult led and child initiated activities.